1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Barnaby bear (year1)- starting point.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by winfieldv, Jun 5, 2011.

1. Hi I was wondering if anyone would be able to help.

I am a PGCE student on my final placement with a year one class, I've only had experience with KS2 before now and I am struggling with pitching my lessons at the correct level. I am also being observed this week on a lesson about transport and unsure whether to stick with the transport the children use daily, and are familiar with, or whether to include other forms such as planes and ferrys.

The topic is linked in with Barnaby bear who is going to be in China for the first week so need to discuss planes eventually. I was thinking about getting the children to create little booklets including the forms of transport with a suggestion of when they would use each form of transport, basically to assess what they already know. I am really not sure if this is appropriate for year 1 or whether focussing on planes would be better and increase the amount they learn in the lesson.

Thank you in advance for anyone that helps.

2. thepinkrachael

thepinkrachael New commenter

We covered transport briefly earlier in the year and started by doing lots of talking about transport they had used. Most of them (once we had explained what the word transport meant) could name several types, buses, cars, trains, planes etc. and went on to draw/paint the methods of transport they knew and label them with the name and where they might go on them.Maybe start with one lesson similar to this/simple booklets to assess and check they will understand the planes content, but then move onto it?