1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Bait, Switch and Bullying

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by ZaraJaneMartin, Jul 10, 2019.

1. ZaraJaneMartin

ZaraJaneMartin New commenter

Sorry for such a heading but I just experienced the worst nightmare abroad.

I applied for a KS3/4 (I am a secondary teacher-humanities) but when I got there, I was put into the daycare center. Within a month, I was observed. I got the most scathing feedback ever. Not one single comment was positive. The administrator said he would follow-up in a couple of weeks

Fast forward to April. I was asked back for the next year to teach my area of qualification. The vice-principal invited me back.
    End of May: I get a letter stating I need to be observed for the desired position.
    That same afternoon, I get a termination letter.

How would you respond?

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Get another job. This is appalling behaviour. They are not going to listen to reason (they do not have any) and therefore you need to get on a plane asap.

yasf and bonxie like this.
  3. bonxie

bonxie Senior commenter

Escape ASAP.

4. ZaraJaneMartin

Thanks for your swift response. I had no choice to leave. They terminated me.
    Also, under duress, I signed papers in Russian without a proper translation.
    I am investigating the head right now. I found some inconsistencies about his past. And my last night there, I found that he was only a supply teacher in the UK. Never a senior head, and does not hold a Masters of Education-Mathematics. Flat out lie.

5. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper