1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Back to basics for Y5

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by electro-web, Mar 31, 2016.

1. electro-web

electro-web New commenter

Hi

I'm a science teacher who has been given a middle ability year 5 maths set. Obviously I can do the maths to that level perfectly well, but I don't have the 'bank' of activities, techniques and lessons that comes with being trained and experienced in a subject.

The year group as a whole haven't done brilliantly on the basics of the four operations (column methods, long division, short/long multiplication) and the HoD has asked us to spend a few weeks next term on hammering these.

Can anyone recommend or point me toward some ideas and techniques for the basics?

thanks!

2. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

3. hammie

hammie Lead commenter

if you want the best step by step gradually increasing in difficulty examples search online for Hess. Very old books, now available online, in the Maths STEM site. Not found a better source of such in 25 years of Maths teaching

https://www.stem.org.uk/elibrary/resource/27732/the-four-rules-of

I use these as very differentiated, so in a typical year 5 class you will have some struggling with 2-4 x tables and others confident in all and beyond 12x
    I usually say something like do the entire top line, then the last two from each row.

Beware of online randomised worksheet makers and modern text books. Both tend to jump in difficulty far to quickly, or randomly. Children then find the method difficult because it jumps into say the 7 times table when they are individually only able to do the 4x

4. electro-web

The Hess stuff looks interesting thank you.