1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Baby pre- or post- NQT year?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by DonwannaSay, Jan 4, 2016.

?

When is less-damaging time to have baby?

Poll closed Jan 11, 2016.
  1. Soon as possible after QTS, before any kind of employment

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. After doing some supply first but before any contracted position

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. During NQT year

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. After NQT year, once secured permanent post

100.0%
  1. DonwannaSay

DonwannaSay New commenter

I turned to teaching during my maternity leave and consequently I am a current teacher trainee with an 11 month old.
    We are trying to plan for the future and can't decide when is best to squeeze in another baby. I know no time is ideal but we don't want to wait 5 years so I was hoping for thoughts on when people would think is best (or less-damaging should I say)?

Should I get pregnant sooner rather than later and have baby #2 after QTS but before getting any supply experience or thinking about a job?
    Go on supply in Sept 2016, get pregnant and think about NQT/Jobs after baby #2
    Wait to secure NQT post and get pregnant then?
    Get NQT year out of the way, secure a permanent post and then get pregnant?

2. lilachardy

lilachardy Star commenter

Is it that easy to get pregnant on cue?

IceCreamVanMan likes this.
  3. DonwannaSay

DonwannaSay New commenter