1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

b squared?

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by sparklyrainbowfish, Feb 19, 2011.

1. Hi all
    I'm applying for a job where I'd need to use b squared. I've never used it (or seen it before) but have looked at the website. It seems straightforward and a useful assessment tool - how do you get along with it? I'm not sure if it the paper or computer version that is used, but I suspect it would be the computer one. It's for use with autistic pupils, many of whom are non-verbal.
    Thanks,
    sparkly.

2. Hi all
    I'm applying for a job where I'd need to use b squared. I've never used it (or seen it before) but have looked at the website. It seems straightforward and a useful assessment tool - how do you get along with it? I'm not sure if it the paper or computer version that is used, but I suspect it would be the computer one. It's for use with autistic pupils, many of whom are non-verbal.
    Thanks,
    sparkly.

3. minnie me

minnie me Lead commenter

I don't use it but they do at my husband's school ( Special BESD ) and he does not rate it. I think that it is because the tool does not allow for anything but the teacher's interpretation of the student's ' progress' and does not lend itself to moderation / standardisation.

4. We use bsquared, as ever there are pluses and minuses, it is mind numbing to complete but can be a useful tool for data and to show gaps that you need to address- but lots of progress on the charts depend on speech or eye contact which for some children with autism is impossible/very difficult.