1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Average NC levels for Key Stage 3

Discussion in 'History' started by AJohnE, Dec 4, 2010.

1. I am new to using National Curriculum levels. Can someone help me with the expected average levels for Year 7 yo 9? I am working on the assumption that your average student should progress from Level 4 to 5 during Year 7, from 5 to 6 in Year 8 and from 6 to 7 in Year 9. Is this correct? If so, presumably, an average Year 7 pupil at the beginning of the year would be on about 4a or 4b, progressing to 5a or 5b by the end of the year.
    Thanks,
    JE

2. I am new to using National Curriculum levels. Can someone help me with the expected average levels for Year 7 yo 9? I am working on the assumption that your average student should progress from Level 4 to 5 during Year 7, from 5 to 6 in Year 8 and from 6 to 7 in Year 9. Is this correct? If so, presumably, an average Year 7 pupil at the beginning of the year would be on about 4a or 4b, progressing to 5a or 5b by the end of the year.
    Thanks,
    JE

3. voodoo child

voodoo child New commenter

Seems about right to me. Though the less able ones seem to go backwards as they can't be @rsed and/or the higher levels are beyond their capabilities.

4. Level 7 equates to A/A* at GCSE wheres as a level 5 roughly equates to a grade. Most pupils will probobly go from Level 3 in year 7 to level 5 in year 9. Hope this helps

5. I wonder if you can help with my question?
    Are the levels the same for each subject? I teach history (NQT) and have been told that the students should be at L5 by the end of KS3 but that they may have different levels aims in Geography or English etc?