1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

August 2011 babies

Discussion in 'Pregnancy' started by Dannii100, Dec 23, 2010.

1. Hello
    I am a teacher and am pregnant with my first baby yay! :) I am due 20th August. I am going to
    work until the end of Summer term. I was wondering will I 'lose' my
    summer holiday pay and will I have to put the end of July (end of term)
    as the beginning of my maternity leave? I hope not but I do know that I
    should be able to claim the following summer holiday pay of 2012 by
    returning to work in July for a few weeks, so at least I benefit that
    way. Can anyone help me about when I have to start my maternity leave?
    Thank you
    Dannii

2. You can put your due date as the first day of your maternity leave and so get some pay for August. If LO arrives before your due date then your maternity leave will automatically start when they are born. You can't start maternity leave later than your due date if you go over due.

3. Hey missytc
    Firstly, congrats! :)
    As far as i am aware, you shouldnt lost all your summer hol pay as you can put your start date of maternity leave down as 20th august (you cant put it later than that) so you would get paid normally up until then; that is unless you have the baby early, say 15th august then that would automatically be the start date.