1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

assessments observations and profiles! please help

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by workaholic1985, Sep 10, 2011.

1. Hi
    i am new to reception this year and have a rather challenging class. I have been trying to get my head around the EYFS and child intitiated activities etc.
    I have a few questions (if anyone can help)

1) I have read on lots of posts people mentioning initial and baseline assessments that are completed in the first weeks. What are these?

2) how much evidence do you put into the childrens folders? and what form does it normally take? e.g. post its work samples photographs
    thank you

2. hurny

hurny New commenter

Baseline/on entry assessments are taken from observations you make of the children when they start your class/setting.You will need to observe the children in your class when they come in (can take up to 6 weeks) and make a judgement where each child is in the 6 areas of learning. I also use information from the previous setting and the parents to help with my 'on entry' judgements.
    Some schools require it so they can see the 'value added' from 'entry' to 'exit'.
    With regards to observations, there are numerous threads on the early years forum about collecting evidence, just look back a few weeks.

https://community.tes.co.uk/forums/p/507435/6928881.aspx#6928881

3. Hi workaholic

Baseline assessments can be used for several reasons: