1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

assessment levels

Discussion in 'Assessment' started by belshaw86, Dec 22, 2010.

1. I am studying for the MTL and have just written a report on peer assessment. I have used attainment grades to show the progress made by pupils (3B, 4C etc). I have been asked to show the levels as numbers so these can be put into a graph. Can anyone help with this? I have only ever been aware of the sub levels being A, B or C. I presume they mean 3B would be 3.5 or something similar. What are A and C as decimals?

2. Ic is 7 and the sub-levels go up in twos, so 1b is 9, 1a is 11, 2c is 13 and so on. The reason 1c is 7 is because we used to have Wc (Honestly! But it meant "working towards" the National Curriculum levels) Wc was 1, Wb was 3 and Wa was 5.
    I don't know who decided that the levels would go up in odd numbers in twos, but it can be useful when trying to show progress over relatively short periods of time. Some schools use 1c+=8, 1b+=10 and so on. Originally, in the old PANDA which was the father of RAISEonline out of a computer system called PAT, it was only Level 2 that was split into sub-levels.
    Good luck.