1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Assessment in first two days of term...

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Shoesontheglasslamp, Sep 9, 2019.

1. Shoesontheglasslamp

Shoesontheglasslamp New commenter

I need some perspective here...

There is an expectation that in the first two days of the new school year we administer long reading, spelling (200+ words), maths, mental maths and SPAG assessments with our new junior classes. I have year 5, and am to use year 5 tests....

I’m an early career teacher, but this sounds like exactly the thing I shouldn’t be doing with my new class - I barely know their names.... I don’t feel this fosters positive relationships or helps the children with settling in to a new year group, room, group of staff etc....
    Can the data I get from these assessments tell me anything of value? I feel I’m just going to demoralise them, and I’d do better giving them these assessments at least mid way through the first full week...?

2. Sally006

Sally006 Occasional commenter