1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Assessment - EBI It Didn't Suck The Joy Out Of Learning

Discussion in 'Assessment' started by wwbiscuit, Mar 13, 2017.

1. wwbiscuit

wwbiscuit New commenter

I'm an overseas trained English teacher and have never, ever been enamoured with the way students are assessed in the UK. I find it needlessly labyrinthine for the pupils and based on spurious assumptions about how learners "progress."

Today was probably the low point for me and my tenuous relationship with how things are done here. Helping out with a Year 7 English lesson, I had to engage some students in DIRT time (Dedicated Improvement Reflection Time Time). By the end of it, my heart mourned for Generation Z. Here is what students were directed to do, in sequence:

* Write down their INT on the assessment front cover.
    * Write their EBI on the inside cover.
    * Write down their STEP on the inside cover.
    * Read through the mark scheme.
    * Read through the WWWs and EBIs.
    * Write a reflection in the INT Box.
    * Make reference to their target.
    * Write out every misspelt word three times.
    * Answer every question written on the assessment.
    * Rewrite one paragraph of the assessment using the EBI.
    * Highlight the part of the paragraph they used to act upon the EBI.
    * Write a reflection about what they decided to do differently.
    * Measure their success against the Learning Objectives.
    * Write a reflection about what they achieved in the lesson, and why.