1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Assembly - do we HAVE to do them?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by trainee123, May 7, 2012.

1. Does anybody know if we are allowed to say no to doing key stage assemblies? I work as a mainstream teacher in a primary school and really dread doing them. It is not written into my contract that I have to do them and I am not part of the SLT.

2. Does anybody know if we are allowed to say no to doing key stage assemblies? I work as a mainstream teacher in a primary school and really dread doing them. It is not written into my contract that I have to do them and I am not part of the SLT.

3. chriszwinter1

chriszwinter1 New commenter

The STPCD and the Burgundy Book are silent on the matter. If it's not in your contract, then don't do them. Leave them those who are paid to do them. HoYs and SLT should accept it goes with their territory to do assemblies. A HoY once said to his tutor team, "I need help with assemblies.", to which the less than charitable reply was, "Yes, you certainly do, but you're not getting it from us."

4. Thanks for getting back to me. Just wish I could find something written somewhere to say that we don't have to do them. I tried to say no to my head teacher, but it didn't go down very well and she basically told me I HAVE to do it.

5. It's very easy for us sitting in anonymous isolation to advise "don't do X", and yes, assemblies are often done by SLT and senior staff. Empowering a teacher to defy a head requires more than saying just refuse to do it. What would probably help the OP is practical advice from those who have managed to persuade a head on this issue.

6. chriszwinter1

chriszwinter1 New commenter