1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ASN Teacher

Discussion in 'Scotland - Primary' started by lisamj82, Jun 20, 2011.

1. Hoping someone can shed some light on this as my research is taking me round in circles!
    I am starting the PGDE this year and eventually want to teach in ASN schools. I have been trying to find out what additional qualifications / experience I'll need but I can't find a definite answer. I currently work in education however my current employer doesn't know I'm leaving so I can ask too many questions!
    A few teachers in ASN schools in my authority have said they had no previous experience working in an ASN school and just "fell into it"
    I've looked on various websites and on Probationer Teacher Scotland it says:
    "Since Additional Support Needs (ASN) is not a curriculum subject in the same way as English and History, registration in this area is only available through our Framework for Professional Registration. All ASN teachers must have gained full registration with us in either primary or secondary education and then use the Framework to work towards professional recognition in ASN."
    However the link is dead and when I go onto GTCS I can't find anything about Professional Registration that includes ASN. There is info on Professional Recognition and has some ASN topics: