1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Asked to start new job earlier

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by ineedout, Oct 2, 2015.

1. ineedout

ineedout New commenter

Finally managed to get a job out of teaching.

I've resigned but my new job would like me to start (if possible) after half term although they will hold my post under January.

Very tempted to just up sticks and leave.

What are the consequences?

2. blueskies31

blueskies31 Occasional commenter

I'm considering leaving the profession at the moment and job hunting in other fields; I hope you don't mind me asking what type of job you're moving to?

I'm no expert at all but would imagine that you may be 'charged' with gross professional misconduct which would stay on your record and affect you should you wish to return to teaching in the future.

Good luck with the new job!

snowyhead likes this.
  3. snowyhead

snowyhead Lead commenter

School could sue you for breach of contract and reclaim the cost of filling your post with a supply teacher until 31st December. Is this a risk you are willing to take? Alternatively, you could ask your school for, and agree to, an early release which might be of mutual benefit to you both.

4. Flere-Imsaho

Flere-Imsaho Star commenter

Has any school actually done that?

5. snowyhead

snowyhead Lead commenter

I have no idea, but I wouldn't put it past an academy chain with pots of money behind them to buy the finest lawyers, just to make an example of someone and act as a deterrent to others.

DYNAMO67 likes this.
  6. DaisysLot

DaisysLot Senior commenter

Yes

7. ineedout

ineedout New commenter

Evidence. Examples?

I have asked for an early release but no reply so far.