1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Asked to give 6 months notice to retire

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by JulieMalone, Sep 29, 2020.

1. JulieMalone

JulieMalone New commenter

I am an advisory teacher working for a large city council. In September I verbally gave my line managers notice that I was thinking of retiring at Easter 2021. Today I have been sent an email from one of them telling me that they need an official letter from me saying that I am retiring on 31st March 2021 so that they can start the recruitment process to replace me as they are keen to get an advert out. Things do not happen quickly in my LA! However, I am a bit unsure about whether they can ask me to do this as I may change my mind in the meantime. I thought I would only have to resign by 28th February 2021 to leave on 30th April, even though this is a few days after we return from the Easter break. I am happy to work those few extra days.
    Also, can I start the application process with Teachers Pension to have my pension for 30th April 2021 even if I have not sent in a resignation letter until 28th February?
    I do want to cover myself in case something happens and I have to stay on longer than Easter.

2. frodo_magic

frodo_magic Occasional commenter

What's your contract say?

3. JulieMalone

Good question, I will have to dig it out and see?

4. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter