1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Asked to fly back to China during outbreak: what to do?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by tigertiger2001, Feb 25, 2020.

1. tigertiger2001

tigertiger2001 New commenter

I work in a school in China: I flew back to England because of the virus epidemic and am now being asked to fly back there again. I'm very worried about this because it's still extremely dangerous. I'm unsure of what to do or say as I don't think it's safe, on the other hand I do have a contractual obligation. Comments and constructive advice welcome.

2. kpjf

kpjf Occasional commenter

Well, British Airways have cancelled flights to Shanghai/Beijing until 17th April and who knows it could be extended.

When exactly do you need to be back in the school for?

3. clovispoint

clovispoint Occasional commenter

No is an option, they do not own you. See what they say. If possible, contact colleagues and say no en masse, unless they provide specific assurances e.g. medical insurance, what contact hours will be on return, number of days contact left etc.

I think the current situation could require an additional contract to ensure you know where you stand. Ask if they will provide it.

HK schools are closed to April 20- article

agathamorse likes this.
  4. february31st

february31st Established commenter

Things you can politely inform your school;

1. Your life insurance policy will be null and void if you return to China.
    2. Your medical insurance may not be valid in China.
    3. The British Consulate will not rush in and help you as you have ignored the Government advice to leave China.