1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ASD, Diabetes and Teaching???

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Chemistry2020, Feb 18, 2020.

1. Chemistry2020

Chemistry2020 New commenter

Hi,

I've recently been offered a place on a Secondary Chemistry teacher training course starting September 2020 and I'm really really excited!
    However, I have both Asperger Syndrome (with anxiety) and Type 1 Diabetes (diagnosed 6 months ago) and today I had an appointment with occupational health that's left me feeling a bit worried...

I've been declared fit for employment with adjustments but those adjustments include the provider doing a risk assessment. I'm a chemist so when I do a risk assessment it's because I'm dealing with hazardous materials or dangerous procedures. Therefore, I don't quite understand exactly what this risk assessment will look at, or mean for me. I'm not a hazard, and having Asperger and Diabetes doesn't make me one :( Therefore, Is anyone able to offer any thoughts on this?

Many thanks.

2. phatsals

phatsals Established commenter

Try not to worry about this, it's a formality. I assume your diabetes is now controlled and you already know how to manager your Aspergers. It's simply to ensure that if any adjustments needed to be taken have been accounted for.