1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ASD Child FS2

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by louloubabe, Mar 30, 2012.

1. Hi,

I have been told today that after Easter I will be working 1:1 with an autistic boy in reception. I have no experience with ASD, I usually work with small groups, working on phonics or global delay. However because I want to do a Primary PGCE, ideally FS/KS1 they have chosen me for the job!

He has had a very quick transfer so there isn't much to go on! All I have been told is that he is of low ability and has hardly any communication skills, he is very bodily aware, often touching himself inappropriately and shouts out rude words, and not much else! Also that he gets very attached, and when holding adults hand he has the urge to put them in inappropriate places!

His teacher hasn't told of any structures in place and anything that he likes, just the bad things!

Does anyone have any advice, so I am slightly prepared on my first day? Since I have no experience, how to help him understand that the things he is doing are inappropriate and not allowed?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Louise

2. Msz

Msz Established commenter

http://www.senteacher.org/FileDetails/48/SocialStories.xhtml
    http://www.oneplaceforspecialneeds.com/main/library_social_stories.html

3. Leapyearbaby64

Leapyearbaby64 New commenter