1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

AS results - how did you find yours?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Bonnie23, Aug 24, 2017.

1. Bonnie23

Bonnie23 Occasional commenter

Had a bit of a chinwag with an old teacher I used to work with and because I'm fairly new to teaching as well as being quite a worrier I often worry too much and over think things.

What are your AS results like? Do you have AS results? If not what did they used to be like? Did you have many resit? How are you finding the linear courses?

We're about to do the horrific switch to a linear course. Not looking forward to it but at this rate it may not be my problem for much longer.

Thanks!
    B x

Lara mfl 05 likes this.
  2. needabreak

needabreak Star commenter

Don't panic the grade boundaries still change to meet the overall accepted percentage of grades at each level across the board that hasn't changed has it. Of course the course content has changed and in my subjects has increased substantially but follow the spec to the letter and all will be fine.

Despite the association with grades and school and teacher performance we should not forget that it is the student that gets the grade and usually the grade they deserve, the more work they put in the better the grade and visa versa, there is actually only so much you can do without taking the exam for them.

As teachers we really ought to stop equating exam results with our achievements, yes it is used as a stick to beat us with however whether we choose to accept that mind set is up to us as individuals, we really ought not be beating ourselves with that very same stick.