1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

AS Level Music - Choices of "popular" music...

Discussion in 'Music' started by kieran13, Sep 10, 2011.

1. AS Music (Edexcel)
    I am new to teaching A-Level. This term I will be tutoring Unit 1 - Performing Music.
    Please can anyone who has taught this unit over the past couple of years suggest some possible pieces of popular music for vocalists that they found to be suitable?
    At the moment I am thinking along the lines of Cole Porter, George Gershwin...that kind of thing, but I would love some more contemporary pieces.
    My concern is ensuring that the music has sufficient technical qualities.

Any suggestions or guidance would be gratefully received.

Thanks.

2. AS Music (Edexcel)
    I am new to teaching A-Level. This term I will be tutoring Unit 1 - Performing Music.
    Please can anyone who has taught this unit over the past couple of years suggest some possible pieces of popular music for vocalists that they found to be suitable?
    At the moment I am thinking along the lines of Cole Porter, George Gershwin...that kind of thing, but I would love some more contemporary pieces.
    My concern is ensuring that the music has sufficient technical qualities.

Any suggestions or guidance would be gratefully received.

Thanks.

3. I often use the rock school exam pieces. Also the edexcel website has a pdf file which has a list of graded pieces for all instruments.

4. florian gassmann

florian gassmann Star commenter