1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

As a qualified teacher, I'm not getting anywhere with pastoral job applications. Why?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by impossibility, Jul 7, 2015.

1. impossibility

impossibility New commenter

Some regulars who frequently read these forums will know that I have doubts about teaching, and I still continue to. For the past couple of months my search has taken a more pastoral route, and I have a lot more enthusiasm for this than teaching. When I say pastoral, I mean more like a personal tutor (sixth form mainly) than a teaching assistant.

I've applied for several jobs in sixth forms as a tutor. It is labelled different ways but it is essentially a personal tutor, delivering personal tutorials to groups and dealing with students one to one. It appeals to me and I genuinely think I'd enjoy it.

I have only got one interview, and I'm convinced that one was only because I knew the principal from a previous interview and he remembered me. I have had my applications checked and always been told they are excellent.

From the teaching jobs I've applied to there has only been one job (out of about 13) where I didn't get an interview. How is it that I can get interviews for teaching posts but not pastoral?

My dream pastoral job at my old college came up recently and I applied thinking there was a good chance I'd get an interview seeing as there were five posts. It closed yesterday at noon and they are interviewing tomorrow so I am taking it that I didn't get an interview, yet I met every single criteria. It is really frustrating as I just don't know why I'm not getting anywhere!