1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Art Therapy in Primary Schools

Discussion in 'Art and design' started by lalaninjacakes, Oct 22, 2012.

1. lalaninjacakes

lalaninjacakes New commenter

I've been teaching A&D for 6 years and have always tended to have the more 'vulnerable' children. I'm currently looking to develop an art therapy course for certain pupils.

Has anyone managed to do this in their school? If so, what does it require?

2. lalaninjacakes

lalaninjacakes New commenter

I've been teaching A&D for 6 years and have always tended to have the more 'vulnerable' children. I'm currently looking to develop an art therapy course for certain pupils.

Has anyone managed to do this in their school? If so, what does it require?

annaosborne1985 likes this.
  3. I've been working in a primary school as a TA for 8 years and last summer qualified as an Art Psychotherapist from Goldsmiths University. My training included placements in secondary education as well as adult mental health. At present I'm continuing to work as a TA as well as working voluntarily alongside an art therapist who provides therapy in an after-school setting for a group of children with autism. My ultimate goal is to set up art therapy provision in mainstream primary schools for children with a range of social and emotional needs.