1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Are you told you must stay in school till a certain time?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by star17, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Just wondered as we are - 4:30.

Wondered if this common as in my last school (this is only my 2nd school and I'm in my 2nd year) this didn't happen. Doesn't really affect me as normally always stay till later but just wondered as occasionally (like today!) I'd like to go earlier without feeling like I have to ask.

We are a state primary whereby all children go home at 3:30

2. Just wondered as we are - 4:30.

Wondered if this common as in my last school (this is only my 2nd school and I'm in my 2nd year) this didn't happen. Doesn't really affect me as normally always stay till later but just wondered as occasionally (like today!) I'd like to go earlier without feeling like I have to ask.

We are a state primary whereby all children go home at 3:30

3. modgepodge

modgepodge Occasional commenter

I'm an NQT, but at my 2 placement schools and now at my new school this doesn't happen. I've never heard of it I have to say. Is there a reason you have to stay so late? Seems a bit unfair as some people may want to pick up kids then work more at home later on, which seems fair to me.

4. nick909

nick909 Star commenter

No time set as we're trusted professionals who are allowed to do our work when se see fit, so long as it gets done. Staggering that it should be otherwise in some schools. We're only required to stay later on staff meeting day and clubs day.