1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Are student teachers favoured candidates for interview?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by purple sparkle, Mar 28, 2012.

1. purple sparkle

purple sparkle New commenter

Hi,
    I am currently in my third year of teaching. I successfully completed my NQT year last March after a really bad start at a really unsupportive school back in 2009-2010. I was forced out of the post. I finished a temporary contract at a good school which took me on and allowed me to complete Induction last August and started my current post. Unfortunately I found out a month ago that this contract (also temporary) was not going to be extended due to decreased student intake and budget cuts. So as a result I am looking for a new post. I have applied for 7 different jobs this month and attended my first interview today. I did not get the job but the head of department was impressed by my HINGE question, differentiated tasks and use of AfL. I am still waiting on proper feedback. Two trainee teachers were put through for the final formal interview and the rest of us (5 candidates) were sent home. Apparently they both taught outstanding lessons according to the new ofsted criteria.I feel that would be extremely tough for a trainee to do. However I wonder if they made it to that because they showed potential but were also cheap? It does make me wonder as one experienced teacher who was on long term supply at the school was also sent home. In addition, most trainees had also attended interview before. One girl doing GTP had only applied for 5 jobs but got 4 interviews out of those! Lucky.
    What do you think about NQTs and the possible advantage for shortlisting and getting the job?