1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Are some atheists pessimistic?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Mathsteach2, Nov 12, 2018.

1. Mathsteach2

Mathsteach2 Established commenter

This is not a thread intended to find fault with atheism. I am genuinely interested in their answers and wish to compare them with my own pessimism. This post is going to be quite lengthy therefore I may have to break ìt up, working only with a smart phone.
    What has happened to my supreme optimism for life? Not my life, that I was going to live to a healthy, happy ripe old age, but my optimism was for the generations to come. As a young teacher I was fit and healthy. My optimism was that through school teaching I could make a difference. This lasted for about ten years (1966 to 76) when the pessimism set in. This realisation was promoted by my despair at the abusive management of the world's resources.

2. Ivartheboneless

Ivartheboneless Star commenter

I do not see what such pessimism is to do with being an atheist. We all pretty much feel that way having been exposed to real life, unless perhaps a sociopath type like "Sir" Philip Greed or others of his type who completely lack empathy. (There are a lot of them about).

phlogiston, nomad and Jamvic like this.
  3. Jamvic

Jamvic Star commenter

Pessimism is non- denominational.

4. Lalad

Lalad Star commenter

According to a programme on R4 earlier this morning, a lot of atheists believe in and /or have experienced angels and the paranormal; and join in with campaigns such as #pray for London, #pray for Manchester. They are also most likely to be under 25.

Pessimism wasn't mentioned.

needabreak, nomad and grumpydogwoman like this.
  5. grumpydogwoman