1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Are low attaining children capable of higher order thinking?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by bethanywhite93, Apr 12, 2018.

?

Are Low attaining pupils capable of higher order thinking?

1. Yes

8 vote(s)
    72.7%
  2. No

1 vote(s)
    9.1%
  3. Sometimes

2 vote(s)
    18.2%
  1. bethanywhite93

bethanywhite93 New commenter

Hi,

I am a student teacher who is currently carrying out research on the exclusivity of higher order thinking skills. I am trying to find out some other teachers perspective/ experiences on higher order thinking, how you have guided children (of all abilities) to develop critical thinking and how it impacted on their progress.

Thank you in advance for any information you can provide me, it is greatly appreciated!

Bethany

2. minnie me

minnie me Star commenter

How do you define lower attaining ?

3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

I would say, yes of course.
    When I think of generally lower attaining group in year 3, they are still working above the level of the highest attaining in year 1.
    If the highest attaining in year 1 are deemed capable of higher order thinking, then so must those in my class.

To be fair the lower attaining are often great at higher order thinking. They are only deemed lower attaining because they haven't collected lots and lots of facts to spew back out in an exam.

Billie73 and minnie me like this.
  4. modgepodge

modgepodge Established commenter