1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Are classes always noisy/disruptive with supply? (Primary)

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by MOfan, Oct 9, 2019.

1. MOfan

MOfan New commenter

I've been a supply teacher for a while now and there's been a reoccurring theme across all schools/year groups that I've worked in. Namely that the class always becomes noisy and disruptive with me. Mainly low level stuff, but it can escalate (in the worst of cases and particularly in upper KS2) to throwing pencils/paper. With younger year groups such as Early Years and Year 1, it can escalate to kids literally rolling around on the floor. (I've obviously had far worse experiences, particularly with kids who have behavioural issues/SEN, but I'm talking about the "normal" kids).

I use all the normal tried and tested strategies i.e. giving verbal warnings, praising those following instructions, using non-verbal signals, rewarding with house points/merits/stickers etc. but I'm obviously going wrong somewhere. I make my expectations clear at the start and have 4 simple rules 1. listen 2. always try your best 3. put your hand up to speak and 4. follow instructions quickly and without a fuss. But waiting for quiet/everyone's attention obviously then slows the pace of the lesson. I normally get through most of what the teacher has left but it just feels like such a hard slog!