1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

AQA Media studies - prelim material

Discussion in 'Media studies' started by big_mean_bunny, May 12, 2014.

1. Now that the prelim material is out I wanted to start a thread, hoping people will share their thoughts and discussion about what they think will be on the exam as a result of seeing the brief?

its my first year with the subject (my first year of teaching actually, I am currently unqualified and start a SCITT in September so has been a step learning curve!) so this process is entirely new to me.

what do people make of the exam brief? I am hoping my class (I only have 11) will naturally move towards the Dance game as we have looked at Just Dance and Kinect Dance (for the life of me can't remember what thats officially called at the moment!)

2. LowerEastSide

LowerEastSide New commenter

HI

An interesting/different style of brief!

Any ideas about the make up of the 4 questions? Obviously a fairly traditional 'Give us your pitch' Task 2 may not be there as explicitly this year. bearing in mind the depth of the brief given?

Or might task 2 ask about the brief in greater depth? USP, how it can be made active/creative etc?

Also do people read 'Games for the Body and Mind' as pertaining to elements of both games? ie If candidates chose 'Dancefloor' theyre would have to be a built in element of cerebral activity etc?

Cheers

Blue

3. Mr_X

Mr_X New commenter

My guesses:

1. The usual knowledge of the theme question. This is where the research on two games will come in

Possible bullet points:

- USP

- appealing to a range of audiences / bringing people together

- using pre and post release strategies

- creating a buzz leading up to release