1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

AQA History A-level

Discussion in 'History' started by dougclucas, Apr 13, 2017.

1. dougclucas

dougclucas New commenter

Dear all,
    I am new to using this so apologies if there is already a similar thread. I am just reviewing my A-level options now that we are coming to the end of the first new A-level course. We are currently with Edexcel for both A-level and GCSE and one thing that we have found as a department its that this A-level has been very hard to deliver in the manner we'd like. The shear weight of content is such that I feel we have had to rush through topics (we currently teach the following: Unit 1 - Stuart Britain, Unit 2 - Revolutionary Russia and Unit 3 - Britain losing and gaining an Empire). They are all interesting courses but because we have had to cover so much I don't feel they have always come across that way. One thing I am considering is moving to AQA which obviously only has the two units (and coursework) and which would mean that we could take longer delivering them and allow us to (I feel) deliver the content in a more interesting way. However, one of the members of my department is very sceptical about the AQA board which she doesn't trust when it comes to marking. Could I ask if anyone has had any recent experience with AQA and/or has any advice for me on this matter.
    Thank you,
    Doug Clucas

2. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

3. varcolac

varcolac Occasional commenter

No experience marking as we didn't do AS levels last year, but the AQA topic options are much easier for us as a department. We're doing Tudors Paper 1, China Paper 2 and Reconstruction to Civil Rights for coursework.