1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

AQA Graphics preliminary material

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by plmccahi, Feb 7, 2011.

1. Hi,
    We have just recieved our Graphics preliminary material. The theme is 'Heping Primary school children learn how to tell the time'. What are peoples perceptions to this, as it is my first time round delivering the Y11 Graphics exam.
    Thanks in advance for your support.

2. Hi,
    We have just recieved our Graphics preliminary material. The theme is 'Heping Primary school children learn how to tell the time'. What are peoples perceptions to this, as it is my first time round delivering the Y11 Graphics exam.
    Thanks in advance for your support.

3. Hi,
    it's actually considered bad form to discuss the prelim mterials before the date we can hand it to the kids.
    However, it sounds like they will ask you to design a clock??? moveable hands, clear numbers etc.
    Engineering prelim - Wooohoooo! EDEXCEL did this 4-5 years ago. Job already done!

4. My reaction is ???????????????????????? We used to get a lot more clues! I'm off for a look round - if I get anything I'll post it here.

5. I personally feel that this is a difficult task, I'm not even sure what techniques are used to help children tell the time?? I suppose it will need to be visual, maybe a pack containing helpsheets, placement of clock hands and discussion of industrial process to make such a thing???? Any help would be much appreciated though.

6. You have read my mind!
    We have just received the material and are really stuck with this theme (compared to previous years) Without the aid of an image mind-map, AQA have really kept us in the dark this year.