1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

AQA English Lit B New Spec Long Term Plan?

Discussion in 'English' started by genb79, Mar 30, 2016.

1. genb79

genb79 New commenter

Hi

I am new to teaching AQA English Literature B, and was hoping that people would be willing to share their long term plans, or at least the texts that you have chosen for the course. We are co-teaching AS and A level but may be changing to A level only. We are doing tragedy and the social and political option for Y13.

I am just looking for different options planning, as I am finding the different combinations of texts quite confusing!

Thanks!

2. genb79

genb79 New commenter

Anyone?!
    If anyone has any pointers, tips or advice for how they organise the course, I would love to hear them :)

3. CarolineEm

CarolineEm New commenter

We are doing linear, so no A/S. We love this approach, as we aren’t constrained by A/S exam content and techniques. Two teachers per class: one doing Crime + the prose coursework + covering half of the theories, the other doing Comedy + the poetry coursework + the other half of the theories. Briefly: nearly all texts covered by summer term of Lower Sixth; coursework in autumn term of Upper Sixth plus finishing all texts, leaving spring / summer U6 for returning to the texts and getting them exam-ready.

I've taught the legacy LitB course since it started. Happy to give more detail if you want to message me.

I’ve started putting some of my work for this on the resources section, with more to follow, in particular 'mock' papers and exemplar answers!

I hope this helps

4. priscilla_lane

priscilla_lane New commenter