1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

AQA AS & A2 - Which textbook is best?

Discussion in 'Business studies' started by ClaireC10, Apr 10, 2009.

1. Hi All
    I wanted to start a discussion to establish which textbook everyone has used this year for AS and how you all felt about which was the best.
    I used the AQA endorsed AS Business Studies by Steve Foden, Diane Mansell & Peter Stimpson from Nelson Thornes. Although this is my first year teaching and I don't have anything to compare it with, I don't think I will use this book again next year with my AS classes. I found a number of errors throughout, some where typo errors but others were more substantial than that and as a new teacher I didn't always spot they were wrong up front. In the summary questions at the end of every few chapters there was on occassions questions on topics not yet covered. I personally didn't like the setting the scene scenarios at the start of each topic, I tended to use these further into the topic.

I have copies of AQA Business Studies for AS by Ian Marcouse and AQA Business Studies for AS Third Edition by Malcolm Surridge and Andrew Gillespie both from Hodder Education.
    Having looked through both of these I am considering using the latter next year.
    What does everyone else think? Also what would anyone recommend for A2?
    Look forward to your responses.
    C

2. Hi I've used AS Business Studies - John Wolinski and Gwen Coates (Philip Allan updates). It's my first year too - but I quite like this and the revision guide. I've also dipped into Marcouse - it's good too - don't know about the other one I'm afraid - will look at responses with interest!

3. Busimiss

Busimiss New commenter

HI C