1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

AQA A2 - Macbeth (gothic)

Discussion in 'English' started by figgins, Jan 5, 2011.

1. I'm guessing a lot of people do this text. It's my first time teaching it at A level rather than GCSE and I would be really interested to hear what your general approach to the text is. Many thanks for any responses, F.

2. I'm guessing a lot of people do this text. It's my first time teaching it at A level rather than GCSE and I would be really interested to hear what your general approach to the text is. Many thanks for any responses, F.

3. sleepyhead

sleepyhead New commenter

Don't do it.... there's so much on the spec that's new and interesting and then we make them do something that most of them have done before :-(

4. gruoch

gruoch New commenter

I mark this paper and think 'Macbeth' is a good choice.
    You need to explore the extent to which it conforms to the genre and the extent to which it does not - bearing in mind that the concept of Gothic is a couple of centureies post Shakespeare.

5. RaymondSoltysek

RaymondSoltysek New commenter

I agree that we should do new material as often as possible. However, Macbeth was a play I always found time for, because (a) it's Shakespeare and (b) the pupils love it.
    Coming from Scotland, I hope the advice I'm going to give you suits an English context. Focus your take on it. You can't hope to do everything, so it's better to cover one or two themes as closely as possible: make then experts in two or so particular fields of the play rather than hope to make them generalists.