1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

AQA A level French in one year

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by goldglitter, Nov 3, 2019.

1. goldglitter

goldglitter New commenter

Morning all

Appreciate any advice you can give me as I am new to this specification.
    I teach a student who wishes to do the AQA A level French in one year. She is bilingual so has little need for any language teaching, she is fluent although her translation and grammar needs work.
    I have 4 hours per week with her and she only made this decision last week so I need to redo my planning.
    We are studying Bonjour Tristesse and La Haine.
    Does anyone have any advice on how to best allocate this 4 hour teaching time so that I can fully prepare her for the IRP and speaking exam, as well as the Paper 2?
    Thank you in advance

G x

2. ChocolateChunk

ChocolateChunk New commenter

Being bilingual will help for the breadth of language that students are expected to produce to reach the top bands for all AOs.
    I would give her Exam material, perhaps the summer 2018 so that she can look at what is coming. The most important is to be familiar with the summary tasks for Listening, Reading, Writing. If she goes through the Examiner's Report and the Mark Scheme, it should clear out many things. Or you could do these, and debrief to her directly.

If you have access to Kerboodle, there are various Stimulus Cards that you can use to create a Speaking Booklet. The three questions need to be answered in depth so that the student can, again, have access to the top bands for both AOs.