1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Applying to Indy schools!

Discussion in 'Independent' started by Penguin1212, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Hi,
    There is a job that has come up in an independent prep school in my area, it is for a DHT and I am really interested in it.
    I am in a position within mainstream to apply for this position - with the appropriate CPD etc and I have read with interest the posts regarding the pros and cons of indy schools with interest but think I would like to put myself forward.
    Just a couple of questions....
    a) Would I even be consisdered as I have no experience of indy schools except that my sister went to one.
    b) Do they have to advertise even if they have a preferred internal candidate???? Like mainstream do?
    c) I would like to visit the school, but there is no mention of that in the advert - is it appropriate to ask? Although I have read the website in detail and school seems great.
    d) Who does application go to head or chair of governors? Do you have any tips for the appliction as it is set out a little different to the mainstream one and I want to hit it right.
    Im really excited about this prospect and think it could be a decent move. I think I could be well suited to teaching in this type of school...... School is quite big and well known in my area, we dont have many indy prep schools around here can only think of 4. So am guessing many other local external applicants would have the same problem of not having experience.
    Thank you in advance for putting up with my ramblings!

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter