1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Applying for SENCO - no experience please help!

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by beccy9876, Feb 14, 2009.

1. Hi

I am thinking about applying for the role as a SENCO (in mainstream primary school). I have had a lot of experience working with SEN children but have not held the role as SENCO. Looking at the Job description and person specs they are looking for someone who is familiar with the Code of practice (I have a copy) and current developments - these I am not sure about. The job description also mentions Wave 2, 3 and provsion for MA/G&T. Is there somewhere I can find out this information or are there documents I should read?

I would be grateful for any help

Thanks

Beccy

2. Mmmm I dont wish to appear rude but it sounds like you have a lot to find out about for this role. Apply and give it a go but if you are up against someone who has worked as a SENCO you are going to have to be rather good at interview.
    Are you a qualified teacher and what teaching experience have you had? Have you had experience of managing people, managing parents, working with different pupils.

BB