1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Applying for second in department

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by jthomas25, Apr 2, 2018.

1. jthomas25

jthomas25 New commenter

Hey everyone, I'm a science teacher and I'm looking for the next challenge in my career. A second in science job has come up at a different school and I was wondering if anyone had any experience of applying for this sort of role and if they had any advice for me. A few things about me:
    • I teach physics (to A-level) but my degree was chemistry and physics, so I could teach chemistry A-level as well but I don't have experience of that yet
    • I am the STEM co-ordinator at my current school. It was a role that didn't exist before the head invented for me
    • My current school has very static middle leadership (i.e. they don't leave)
    • I am an NQT+1 (I am aware this could hold me back)
    • I have a friend, who I trained with, at the school who told me about the job. She would apply herself but she is planning on going to Canada with her boyfriend. She has said I can call her and ask her any questions.
    Any help/hints/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. Trendy Art

Trendy Art Star commenter

In response to your points:
    • You can state in your application that you are able to teach chemistry as an additional subject
    • The head at your current school clearly values you to create a post specifically for you and doesn't want you to leave
    • You are ambitious with your career, but can't see opportunities to progress