1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Applying for deputy headship?

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by JiveBunnys, Jan 16, 2012.

1. Hello,

I've been teaching for four years, and I'm a very good classroom practitioner. I have started a gardening club in the school, and applied for funding / budgeting for it. I ran it school wide, ensuring that I took complete control of it.
    I have been key stage leader for one year, and I am a naturally organised person. To help to get my head around certain areas of headship, such as legalities, and budgeting, I am planning to start studying for my NPQH. I know it is not needed anymore, I am purely doing to to gain further information.
    Following this, would their be much holding me back when applying for my first deputy role?
    Nic

2. Spelling maybe?

3. Long day...

Thanks for the constructive response.

4. Glad you have such a high opinion of yourself. A gardening club. Hmm. You must be good. Let me just make sure I know where you will be applying for headships please, so I can avoid the area... The only thing likely to hold you back is your ego. (Mean? Yes, but I want the person to know how they come across. I'm all for honesty.)

5. Hmm, not sure where my supposed 'ego' has come from? Yes, I started a gardening club. It gave the children a whole new insight into a new hobby or interest, and enhanced their Science knowledge - as far as I'm concerned, it was a great move, the head confirms so.
    Thanks for your constructive comment...

6. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

That you think this is enough experience and skills to make you a candidate for deputy headship is the thing that tells me you're very far from it.