1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Applying for a sideways role without burning bridges

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by lucky63, Oct 22, 2019.

1. lucky63

lucky63 New commenter

I am looking for a bit of advice. I am a normal class teacher in a secondary school in Edinburgh. I have been teaching for around 5 years and this is my 4th year in the school. Overall, I like the school. Not everything is perfect but I have a very good head of department and I like my department. The school has good results. My issue is the travel. I travel 50 miles a day, and it can take up to an hour one way during peak time. A job has come up in a school 10 minutes down the road from me. Cutting down the travel would make life easier for me. The school the vacancy has come up in has a good reputation. I wouldn't leave my current school for any school near by but I think this one could be a good fit for me, and I have kept an eye on vacancies there.

My issue is if I go for the job and don't get it I would burn my bridges with my current school. I have been given a chance to teach a Higher class this year for the first time and though the pupils are more lower ability I would kind of like to see it through. I was unsuccessful when I went for a recent promotion but head teacher said he was considering any other suitable roles for me as he didn't want me to go elsewhere.