1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

application for HOD

Discussion in 'Independent' started by performerscollective, Mar 28, 2012.

1. Hello all
    I am applying for a HOD in a HMC independent school. I teach in an independent boys grammar. I am currently in my second year of teaching (music). I am well aware that competition will be very fierce for this job and that I may well be perceived as "batting above my weight". Nevertheless, there is nothing listed on the specification that I do not already do in my current position apart from obviously having to manage other staff members (position states that there is another part time teacher in the senior, and a part time teacher in the prep school).
    How can I make my application stand out and actually be considered seriously as a teacher that can fill this role, rather than being cast aside as someone who is unsuitable due to lack of teaching experience? My HOD is encouraging me to apply for the role and believes I can do it so I feel supported in my choice to try, but I really do fear I will simply be put in the recycling bin with little consideration due to the level of competition.
    Many thanks

2. Step 1 - Open wallet
    Step 2 - Pay for an hour of Theo's time
    Step 3 - Find oneself in a significantly better position regards job applications
    Step 4 - Get job

3. Only one way to find out I suppose - apply and see! You might find with it being a prep school and straddling primary and secondary up to y8 that they might not be inundated with applicants. (Obviously this depends on how well regarded it is but I know of prep schools who really struggle to fill Hod roles).