1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

APP

Discussion in 'Primary' started by scatdo, May 5, 2009.

1. Hi everyone

I'm a first time poster and would really appreciate your honest feedback surrounding the implementation of APP in your schools. I'm a student teacher and am preparing to present a PowerPoint Presentation on APP as part of my degree. I would really appreciate any consturctive feedback. Thank You[​IMG]

2. If you share what you have done, we may be able to provide constructive feedback.
    If, however, you merely wish us to tell you what to put in your presentation, then beware.

3. Hi
    I was one of the first people to implement APP in my school due to a course I went on and a project I became involved in.
    I feel reasonably positive about it because I feel it informs my planning and gives me a good feel for the gaps in the children's knowledge. It isn't too time consuming - apart from the evidence gathering bit - as I only complete 3 APPs: one each for HAP, MAP and LAP in my English and Maths groups.
    I know there are many more maths APP sheets than there are reading and writing, but for some reason I prefer completing the maths one. This could be because I prefer teaching maths, but only slightly because I do like teaching English too.
    So, to sum up, I feel pretty okay about APP.

4. Wolfpaul - how did your school track pupil progress on a termly basis before APP?

5. WolfPaul

WolfPaul New commenter

We haven't switched to APP. We use regular testing and teacher assessment to give each child a level every half term.