1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Anyone teaching in America?

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by joeyb31, Feb 4, 2009.

1. Hi, I'm an NQT and will be coming to the end of my contract in July. I would love to teach in America for a year and was wondering if there are any UK trained teachers out there at the moment who could tell me how you got there? Thanks!

2. I am an American teacher in the U.S. but I think I can give you some advice. There are some states that are desperate for teachers and welcome teachers from other countries. One of these is North Carolina. The weather is wonderful but the kids are devils. The students in the U.S. are so different from other countries so prepare yourself for discipline problems. I would contact the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and teacher licensure. Try this site
    http://teach4nc.org/. If I can help anymore let me know. My email is kimberlykester@yahoo.com