1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Anyone ideas for using Holst's The Planets in music with KS2?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by donna1107, Apr 13, 2011.

1. Hi all. Im a yr5/6 teacher and our topic after Easter is Earth and Space. Im planning on using Holst's The Planets in music lessons but not sure what to actually do with it, ie what the learnig objectives should be. Any ideas? We've done a lot of singing this year, and will be looking at cyclic patterns after half term with Indian music, so basically can pretty much do anything else. I know Mars has lots of ostinato, what could i do with that?
    Hope you can help?

2. clear_air

clear_air New commenter

Which areas of music are you covering this term? Composition? Graphic scores? Listening and aprpeciating? There's so much in there you need to have a look at how your term breaks down in terms of the skills you are teaching.