1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Anyone had supply work in the North west of England?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by lady123, Sep 3, 2015.

1. lady123

lady123 New commenter

Hello!

I am new to the world of secondary supply and quite relieved to come across these forums.

I have re-located to the north west this summer and have joined two agencies - one is very well known and I have heard nothing from them since registering in July, the other is more local and they have kept in touch via e-mail and offered me a place at an induction meeting next week.

I am eager to get started. I have agreed to do cover supervisor work along with supply - just wondering how long it takes for the work to come in.

Also, has anyone here had positive experiences of supply in the north west?

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

If I were you In would stick with teaching and not work as a cover supervisor. Why should you as you are a trained teacher.

Why don't you try contacting some of the schools directly as you have nothing to lose by doing and so and if get work directly you may get more money and more work. If you are willing to do primary as well that will increase the amount of work you get. Perhaps just try years 5 and 6 to test the water. I cannot comment on the area you are in, but here where I am there appears to be a lot of primary work.

September can be slow, but it usually picks up in a couple of weeks from the start of school. Once you get started, make sure you do a good job so you get repeat bookings which is what you want. There are many threads on here about what to do to get repeat bookings.

Let us know how you get on with your new venture.

3. horseykitty