1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Anyone ever gone from teaching to a trade?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Mr_Fabulous, Sep 25, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Mr_Fabulous

Mr_Fabulous New commenter

I've spent the last 5 years working my way up from a TA to a teacher. I've just finished my teacher training but I've been teaching for the last 2 years now and I don't think my heart is really in it. Teaching part time as a TA was great, but the stresses and responsibilities of a teacher just don't seem to be worth it.

I hate the idea of coming home and doing marking until 11pm at night, when I finish work I prefer to have my own life and hobbies but this is getting replaced by progress meetings, data chasing and endless spreadsheets. I also dislike having to teach awful classes (having teenage boys telling you to f*** off on a regular occasion can be disheartening). Finally, the wage is just pants, and I also got told off by my boss for saying so. The feeling of dread when being called into the boss' office makes me feel as though I'm a naughty schoolboy of 12 years old again, but £21k really isn't worth the stress or hassle.

I have a family to support so I need something where I can get a guaranteed wage. I am considering training to become a plumber. It has the appeal that I can choose to work when I want and I can also charge a better price for my work and earn way more than a measly 21k. I also imagine I won't have to work at home that much nor face the pressure of data driven targets and spreadsheets.

When I was at school teachers, engineers and doctors were the respected professions and trade was something generally looked down upon. Nowadays it seems to be the other way around.