1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Anyone else lost all their confidence?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Joobs06, Sep 30, 2010.

1. Hi all
    Just entering my 5th year and I just feel like I'm an awful teacher and that everyone is talking about me behind my back. I didn't have the best start as my first head was a complete bully and sucked any self confidence out of me. even thinking about it makes me shrink and feel completely awful. However las year I moved to a new and lovely school who are supportive and just so friendly. But I can't get over this total lack of confidence. I still think people are talking about me behind closed doors. It doesn't help that I have lots of adults in my class this year and keep thinking that they're judging me. My HOY wants to do an observation for performance management - which is totally normal! But being me I think it's because someone has said something and she's checking up on me. It also doesn't help that I'm always classed as 'satisfactory' with elements of good. I don't know what I'm supposed to do to get past this but I seem to put everything they say into place (although last observation I didn't really get anything apart from try and use more ICT). But all I can see is that I haven't improved since my NQT year. I'm at a point now where I have no idea what you need to do to get past 'satisfactory'. Actually I'm getting to a point where all this stress is making me not like the job anymore. I don't know what to do - my children get really good results every year and no one says I'm a poor teacher.

Sorry for the rant.
    Joobs

2. lardylegs

lardylegs Occasional commenter