1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Anyone else feel like their workload has increased a lot this year?

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by rosaespanola, Oct 12, 2009.

1. rosaespanola

rosaespanola New commenter

Is anyone else finding that they and other staff seem to have a lot more work this year than in the past? I'm just a regular classroom teacher in a secondary school (in my 5th year) and my workload in the past has been manageable to the point that I've felt able to take on the odd extra thing like lunchtime clubs, but this year I seem to be working through all my frees and for 2-3 hours every evening and still struggling to get everything done. A lot of my colleagues are also feeling that they're being given extra work on top of what their job involved last year, and a lot of these extra tasks don't even seem to be things they should be being asked to do, for example my HoD has been told he's now responsible for something that will involve him making a lot of phone calls & writing letters. When he asked if he could have some admin support for things like this he was told the Head's PA would assist him, but no assistance has been forthcoming as the Head's PA is constantly busy as well.
    I'm just wondering if people in other schools are finding the same thing this year, or if it's just my school. What do you think?

2. ferrisbueller

ferrisbueller New commenter

And I thought it was just me!!
    The last 18 months have been HELL!! - and this time I'm not talking about the kids.
    If you try to add a TLR onto your general teaching workload it is just getting ridiculous!