1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Anyone done a Masters degree?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by ashi1992, Sep 1, 2018.

1. ashi1992

ashi1992 New commenter

Hi- I am about to embark upon an Msc in Educational leadership and Management (part time distance learning)

I am doing this because after 5 years of working as a maths teacher I have not managed to find management experience and I feel that I don't actually know enough about the landscape of education to be able to be confident in interview.

Has anyone done something similar and what has been your experience?

Many thanks

2. dts

dts Occasional commenter

What sort of management experience do you want? After five years it's not unusual to still be "just" a classroom teacher.

I have a very similar MSc, and it has been very useful - partly for making my CV more impressive but mainly for giving me the time and space to think more reflectively and strategically. However, I was already in a middle management position when I started it - there were some aspiring future leadership teachers on my course, who tended to struggle a bit - precisely because, as you say, they didn't actually know enough yet.

What helped me to progress was finding an area in my school that wasn't getting much attention, and giving up some time to make some small but visible differences. This might mean offering to take a lead in drafting a new SoW, for instance - try to find something that will be welcomed by your HoD and SLT.

lindenlea likes this.
  3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Most people don't have management experience after 5 years of teaching, and nor should they!