1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Anybody any experience with the Edge Hill Primary PGCE interview day??

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by lara1809, Jan 28, 2010.

1. Hiya

Sorry I have no experience of Edge Hill but I am a PGCE student on the course already at a different uni.

My advice would be to:
    • Buy a few Key Stage 3 revision books for your English and Maths tests. They are only about a £4 or £5 quid but will prepare you up to level 6 at least.
    • For my English 'test' I just had to complete a paraphrase activity - look at a piece of writing and put the key points in my own words. Others I have heard about include comprehension activities. I assume their aim is to check you have a good grasp of the English language and can write fluently etc. I am not sure what they are asking for but it may be something like this.
    • Buy a copy of the Times Ed Supplement which comes out each Friday. Not sure how much it costs as I have a subscription but it is useful for brushing up on topical teaching issues. Rose review and the new curriculum is very topical as is personalised learning.They will be looking to check you are passionate enough about the profession to actually go out and find the basics but won't expect you to know it inside out.
    If you are really concerned, maybe get in touch with them and see if they will release anymore details.

Best of luck with the day x

2. Hi there Lara
    Thank you for your reply - very much appreciated.

I have got myself a couple of the revision books, and working my way through them. Simultaneous equations - jeez, that takes me back!!