1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Any wisdom for Continuous Provision in year 1?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by icxcnika, Aug 29, 2009.

1. Hello
    I am wondering if there is any wisdom out there among year one teachers regarding planning for continuous provision and national curriculum in year one? I am new to the year group but am very keen to 'get the best of both worlds' in terms of having a good Early Years feel and a key stage one focus? I would love to hear from you if you are already planning for this!

Thanks!

2. In my year 1 classroom the first (old) term was spent using the reception timetable, meeting the gaps in the children's learning. Lots of child initiated learning. As we moved into the spring term, the child initiated learning was still present (helps being a CLJ school) but we had moved on to NC objectives.

3. We have just started doing this too (i.e. EYFS setting for at least first 1/2 term), and are planning to move towards integrating more 'formal' learning after Christmas, as per poster above.
    There's an awesome thread on the Early Years section about transition for Y1 - check it out, I found it incredibly helpful.

Kate

4. comenius

comenius New commenter